1821

18, April 2016

An impressive square lighthouse, 99 feet to the lantern, is built on Pen Diben, the southern promontory of the island, exhibiting light for the first time on 24 December, 1821. The engineer and builder is Joseph Nelson, probably influenced by Daniel Alexander, and carrying in the limestone blocks from Anglesey requires the blasting of a new landing place, the Cafn which we still use today.

sgrolio scroll